So Much Good!!!

I get very anxious when I am in large groups of people.  By ‘large’ I mean anything over 6-8 people.  It’s hard to explain if you don’t know what I mean right out of the gate.  Part of what happens is I get overwhelmed processing so much input from multiple voices and visual images.  I also get extremely self conscious about what to say, what I will sound like, what will people think of my opinion, will my question sound stupid, etc. etc.

Anyway last week the quilter’s guild show organizer called and asked me to volunteer at the show this past weekend. Before I could stop myself I said yes to volunteering for 2 hours in the morning and 3 hours in the afternoon on Saturday.

My customary action after such a blunder would be to come up with some excuse to beg off at the last minute or to actually manifest an ailment (allergy attack, cold, bad back or ?) to get out of my commitment.

But this time I soldiered on.  I rationalized that this is a very friendly, innocuous group oif women involved in an endeavor I find very challenging and satisfying.  I love to learn and would find a lot of opportunities to do just that at the show.  And right now I am into pushing the envelope, getting out of my comfort zone, and getting over it!!

So i went.  I volunteered.  And I had a great time!!!  The women were very welcoming.  The show was great.  I got a lot of new inspiration.  I bought some wonderful new applique thread and some new patterns.  And I made some new friends.

I hoped that I would come out of the show feeling like I belonged in the group.  I had only attended one meeting and made excuses for the last 4 months for not attending again.  Anxiety based excuses. I feel like I made a jump start at feeling at home at future meetings.

Stay tuned.  I plan to attend the June meeting and am looking forward to it.  Now if I can just avoid getting a cold or a backache…….

About ro848

knitter...spinner...reader....dog lover....community volunteer....ocean....forest...rivers...mountains...coastal...dreamer...gardener....writer....

Posted on May 26, 2015, in Just A Thought and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Morrigan's Nest

A journey toward a nomadic life.

Lipstick and Laundry

Celebrating Imperfection One Pile at a Time

Cooking for the Sensitive Gut

Delicious soothing recipes the sensitive gut

Please Pass the Recipe

from one generation to the next

Possibly Vintage

Health | Lifestyle | Vintage

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

country garden illustrations

Sketches and jottings from a country garden

Doodlewash®

Adventures in Watercolor Painting and Sketching, Watercolour Magazine, with Charlie O'Shields

a fresh drawing everyday

since october 2010, I´m posting a sketch per day

textile dreams - fibery wake up

all about fun and frustrations with everything fibery

Tialys

Life and Creativity in the South of France

english girl at home

A Sewing & Knitting Blog, Made in Birmingham, England

Blue Stiggy

Michaela Bere - Textile Artist & Hand Embroiderer

Modern Scottie Dog

a blog for Scottie Dog Lovers

