Clearing the Decks

Over the years I collected a lot of yarn and fabric for future projects.  Some of it was materials I liked at the time but no longer speak to me.  Some things I just collected because the price was right or a friend gifted me with hand-me-downs.

I was brought up in a family heavily invested in hand-me-downs.  I love the concept.  But I have decided it is time to clear the decks for future knitting, weaving and quilting projects.  So the yarn I looked at for the last month that was waiting to be put on my loom is gone.  The color is not me and is not inspiring.  The quilt project from my previous post is gone along with the uninspiring fabric I was trying to use up.  I am not a pastels person.

Yesterday, with glee and great satisfaction, I dropped off a bag of yarn at the thrift store.  Gone is the drab tan beige tone cotton yarn.  Gone is the cone of pastel variegated yarn that looked colorful enough on the cone but paled to washed out hues once woven.  Gone is the white that reminded me of the days I had to wear white dresses to church ceremonies too numerous to count, a time I really don’t want to remember.

As I say goodbye to each outgrown skein and piece of fabric I feel a great inner peace and a sense of excitement and expectation.  The clutter is reduced as well as the obligation to “make do”.  I can’t wait to get the yarn color card I ordered so I can experiment with jewel tones and iridescence in my weaving.  It has been too long to have that project on the back burner.  Life is too short.

Me:

0841780L

Not Me:

0821100L

About ro848

knitter...spinner...reader....dog lover....community volunteer....ocean....forest...rivers...mountains...coastal...dreamer...gardener....writer....

Posted on November 21, 2014, in Color, Just A Thought and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Morrigan's Nest

A journey toward a nomadic life.

Lipstick and Laundry

Celebrating Imperfection One Pile at a Time

Cooking for the Sensitive Gut

Delicious soothing recipes the sensitive gut

Please Pass the Recipe

from one generation to the next

Possibly Vintage

Health | Lifestyle | Vintage

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

country garden illustrations

Sketches and jottings from a country garden

Doodlewash®

Adventures in Watercolor Painting and Sketching, Watercolour Magazine, with Charlie O'Shields

a fresh drawing everyday

since october 2010, I´m posting a sketch per day

textile dreams - fibery wake up

all about fun and frustrations with everything fibery

Tialys

Life and Creativity in the South of France

english girl at home

A Sewing & Knitting Blog, Made in Birmingham, England

Blue Stiggy

Michaela Bere - Textile Artist & Hand Embroiderer

Modern Scottie Dog

a blog for Scottie Dog Lovers

