Challenge of Equilibrium

One of the definitions I found for the word ‘equilibrium’ is “mental or emotional balance”.  This word came to mind for my title because that balance has been my core challenge lately.

On the one hand I continue to immerse myself in my fiber adventures:  knitting a shawl from some beautiful raspberry bamboo narrow ribbon yarn, spinning various kinds of fiber from my stash, sandwiching a pieced table runner with batting and backing ready to baste and quilt.  But on the other hand I have several family members facing serious challenges and this week we got word that one of our beloved dogs has a very aggressive cancer.  We have opted to just keep him comfortable for as long as we still have him with us.

Add to all of this the fact that the weather here on the far northern California coast has been a double whammy of July gloom. There has been a persistent marine layer pulled in  by the heat in the inner valley.  That layer thickened by smoke blowing periodically toward the coast from several wildfires in southern Oregon.

So the gym offers me respite, my yoga gives me peace, my garden is flourishing, spinning gets me in the zone.  If all those things fail there is always an audio book or some escapist music that beckons, and old movie or a rousing round of Plants vs. Zombies.

So I pet my dogs and remain thankful for the riches in my life and continue to strive for equilibrium.

About ro848

knitter...spinner...reader....dog lover....community volunteer....ocean....forest...rivers...mountains...coastal...dreamer...gardener....writer....

Posted on August 1, 2013, in Just A Thought and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Sorry to hear about your troubles. Really, all we can do is march on, keep doing what needs to be done as well as the nicer things that bring us joy. It’s good that you haven’t lost the urge to be creative, it’s easier to pull through when we have our little escape routes and breathing spaces.

  2. If I didn’t have my creative projects I would surely be lost. Writing helps immensely also. Thank you for commiserating!

Leave a Reply

Morrigan's Nest

A journey toward a nomadic life.

Lipstick and Laundry

Celebrating Imperfection One Pile at a Time

Cooking for the Sensitive Gut

Delicious soothing recipes the sensitive gut

Please Pass the Recipe

from one generation to the next

Possibly Vintage

Health | Lifestyle | Vintage

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

country garden illustrations

Sketches and jottings from a country garden

Doodlewash®

Adventures in Watercolor Painting and Sketching, Watercolour Magazine, with Charlie O'Shields

a fresh drawing everyday

since october 2010, I´m posting a sketch per day

textile dreams - fibery wake up

all about fun and frustrations with everything fibery

Tialys

Life and Creativity in the South of France

english girl at home

A Sewing & Knitting Blog, Made in Birmingham, England

Blue Stiggy

Michaela Bere - Textile Artist & Hand Embroiderer

Modern Scottie Dog

a blog for Scottie Dog Lovers

