Sewing Hurdle

I haven’t had any of my sewing machines running for at least a couple of years.  A few weeks ago I pulled out one of the portables and put it on the dining room table.  There it sat and waited.  And waited.  I looked at it.  I thought about setting it up.

This particular machine is really cute.

Image 

It doesn’t look as daunting as it can seem when you have packed it away for a long time and forgotten how to even turn on the light never mind get it humming along.

Well today I finally set up the card table, plugged the machine in, threaded it and off we went!

It may not sound like much but I find in my boomer years that I have very little patience for trial and error and machines that sometimes don’t work easily.  I was lucky today.  I managed to get it threaded right after only one false start.  I managed to lengthen the stitches so the bobbin thread wouldn’t bunch up underneath.  I sewed the binding all around the edge of my quilt!  Now all the quilt needs is for me to blind stitch the binding to the right side of the quilt border.  I may even get to take a picture soon of the finished quilt and post it here.  How exciting!!

About ro848

knitter...spinner...reader....dog lover....community volunteer....ocean....forest...rivers...mountains...coastal...dreamer...gardener....writer....

Posted on May 16, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. When I was in high school, I took classes in tailoring! In the 20 years or so, however, the only thing I used my sewing machine for was mending. But the sewing bug has bitten me. I bought a nice new (to me – used) machine and am joyfully making a pair of pants (Vogue V8712). I was thrilled that I could still put in a fly and zipper! And I just finished up a summer dress for my 5 year old granddaughter! What fun!

    • Glad you’re having so much fun and revisiting old skills. I don’t think I’ll ever get back to putting in a zipper but am very content to look forward to using the machine for more quilting. Enjoy and thanks for the encouragement!

  2. Hi ro848. Thank you for visiting and following my blog, so that I found you in return. 30+ years ago I used to spin a lot, until we didn’t have the sheep anymore, and when I ran out of people to knit jumpers for (LoL). Quilting has been my passion since then, and now includes dyeing the fabrics for my quilts. Sue D.

    • Hi Sue. 30 years ago I took some quilting classes but over time turned to knitting and crocheting. We moved to northern California 12 years ago to a very rural area. There are a lot of opportunities to link up with people who spin and weave and quilt. After exploring what was offered locally I have found myself drawn back to quilting. But I must admit I find all the wealth of information on the internet and the vast array of techniques overwhelming. The one problem with living in an isolated area is not much access to teachers and local classes. Your quilts and fabrics and shop are fabulous. I expect to get a lot of inspiration from your blog. Thanks for the message. Ro L.

  3. Haha, I tried the same trick recently, setting my machine up on the table ready to use. It’s still there…

Leave a Reply

Morrigan's Nest

A journey toward a nomadic life.

Lipstick and Laundry

Celebrating Imperfection One Pile at a Time

Cooking for the Sensitive Gut

Delicious soothing recipes the sensitive gut

Please Pass the Recipe

from one generation to the next

Possibly Vintage

Health | Lifestyle | Vintage

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

country garden illustrations

Sketches and jottings from a country garden

Doodlewash®

Adventures in Watercolor Painting and Sketching, Watercolour Magazine, with Charlie O'Shields

a fresh drawing everyday

since october 2010, I´m posting a sketch per day

textile dreams - fibery wake up

all about fun and frustrations with everything fibery

Tialys

Life and Creativity in the South of France

english girl at home

A Sewing & Knitting Blog, Made in Birmingham, England

Blue Stiggy

Michaela Bere - Textile Artist & Hand Embroiderer

Modern Scottie Dog

a blog for Scottie Dog Lovers

