Mohair Journey

I am on a prolonged mohair journey.  It started over 2 years ago.  A friend gave me 2 black trash bags of raw mohair.

Image

In the photo it doesn’t look too bad.  In person you would see many many places where the fleece is very knotted and matted and also has a lot of grease despite washing.  However the staple length of the locks is an incredible 8-10 inches at its longest.

Being the novice fiber artist that I am,  I washed the fiber last summer and proceeded to card it on my drum carder.  Not good.  The locks are so long that they got hopelessly enmeshed around the feeder drum and the carding drum.  I had to resort to cutting the batt off the carder to remove it.

After consulting with a local veteran spinner I decided to have a go at just spinning the locks.

Image

That process is still a challenge due not only to the matting but also to small bits of vegetable matter that suddenly appear out of nowhere as I tease and comb the locks. I can only work on this fiber in small increments because it is hard on the hands.  But I finally have a rationale for having 2 spinning wheels!  These locks will take me a very long time to spin if I can persevere.  So far it makes life interesting going from the spinning of merino top on one wheel to raw mohair locks on the other wheel.  The resulting yarn is very rough and has a lot of ‘character’.

Image

In my mind’s eye it will make a fine rug someday maybe dyed with a natural dye bath of marigolds and calendulas that I have growing in my garden.  Ah, we fiber enthusiasts can dream!

About ro848

knitter...spinner...reader....dog lover....community volunteer....ocean....forest...rivers...mountains...coastal...dreamer...gardener....writer....

Posted on May 9, 2013, in Fiber Arts, Spinning and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. is it rough in the look (as in uneven) or at the touch? it looks rather airy and soft from the pic… i like it and the idea to dye it with natural marigold 🙂

    • It is rough in both ways. It is thick and thin and it also has those little mohair hairs poking out. Looks are deceiving. I have always been very sensitive to the scratchiness in wool to the point that I have to use merino for my outer garments and could never wear it against my skin. And forget even fine softer mohair. So a rug it will be!!! Thanks for confirming the marigold!

  2. oh, I see… yes, appearance is deceiving here 🙂 well, a nice object for your house will still be a good use of it! looking forward to seeing it

Leave a Reply

Morrigan's Nest

A journey toward a nomadic life.

Lipstick and Laundry

Celebrating Imperfection One Pile at a Time

Cooking for the Sensitive Gut

Delicious soothing recipes the sensitive gut

Please Pass the Recipe

from one generation to the next

Possibly Vintage

Health | Lifestyle | Vintage

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

country garden illustrations

Sketches and jottings from a country garden

Doodlewash®

Adventures in Watercolor Painting and Sketching, Watercolour Magazine, with Charlie O'Shields

a fresh drawing everyday

since october 2010, I´m posting a sketch per day

textile dreams - fibery wake up

all about fun and frustrations with everything fibery

Tialys

Life and Creativity in the South of France

english girl at home

A Sewing & Knitting Blog, Made in Birmingham, England

Blue Stiggy

Michaela Bere - Textile Artist & Hand Embroiderer

Modern Scottie Dog

a blog for Scottie Dog Lovers

